Skip to content

Class E Motorcycle License Requirements

Getting a Class E motorcycle license takes a little more effort than getting a regular driver's license.

If you want to operate a motorcycle in the state of Florida, you will need to have a Class E license. In order to obtain this license, there are a few requirements that you must meet. In this blog post, we will go over these requirements and provide information on how to obtain your motorcycle license in Florida.

At The Fran Haasch Law Group, we want you to be as safe as possible on the road. We also want you to have the proper license to be able to ride. If you’re ever in an accident that occurs due to someone else’s negligence, we’ll be here to help. Just contact us online for a free evaluation to learn more.

How do I get a Class E License in Florida?

In order to obtain a Class E motorcycle license in Florida, you have to be at least 16 years old. You must also have completed an approved motorcycle skills course with the Motorcycle Safety Foundation or the Basic Rider Course, and you will need to complete a written motorcycle exam as well.

What if I am Under 18 Years of Age?

If you are under 18 years of age, you may be able to get a Florida “motorcycle only” license if you don’t yet have your valid Florida driver’s license. However, you have to be at least 16, and you have to have held a Learner’s License for a year – during that time, you can’t have any traffic convictions.

You’ll also have to pass the same written exam as those who want a regular Class E license, and you’ll have to take the Basic Rider Course. Once you do that, all you need to do is go to a driver license office, present your ID and verification you’ve completed the course, and pay a fee.

What is a Florida Motorcycle Endorsement?

You can obtain a driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement by completing a Basic Rider motorcycle safety course. Once you’ve completed the course, go to your nearest driver’s license office location. You’ll need to provide identification as well as a certificate verifying you’ve completed the course. You’ll also have to pay a fee.

After you’re authorized to operate a motorcycle, your endorsement will be on the front of your Class E license. It will appear as “A-MTRCL” (motorcycle also) or “O-MTRCL” (motorcycle only).

You need to obtain your endorsement within a year of completing the course. If you don’t, you’ll have to retake the course.

How Long Does it Take to Get a Florida Motorcycle License?

The Basic Rider Course takes 15 hours to complete, and it can take anywhere from two to seven days. Once you’ve completed the course, you should be able to obtain your motorcycle driver license the same day if you can get an appointment.

Do I Need to Renew My Motorcycle Endorsement?

No, you do not. Your endorsement is good for life once it’s added to your license.

What is the Basic Rider Motorcycle Safety Course?

As the name implies, the Basic Rider Course teaches entry-level riding skills. Coaches help riders develop control skills such as stopping, turning, and straight-line riding. They then move to more advanced skills, such as cornering, swerving, stopping quickly, etc.

The schools that teach the course are certified by the state of Florida. Advertised costs range from $99 to more than $300. Make sure you find out everything that’s included in the price you’re quoted. If that price is very low, it might be because you’ll have to pay for extras, such as the use of protective equipment, books, and more.

Motorcyclist holding helmet equipment

What is the Written Portion of the Class E License Test Like in Florida?

This test consists of 50 multiple choice questions involving traffic signs and traffic laws.

The written test is not difficult for most people, but it’s important that you study for it nonetheless. The questions are based on material covered in the Florida Driver License Handbook. The best way to pass this part is by taking a practice quiz or two and then trying to ace as many tests as possible (the more you take, the better chance you have of doing well).

How Much Does it Cost to Get a Class E License in Florida?

A motorcycle-only license in Florida will cost $48. It will cost $7 to add a motorcycle endorsement to your driver’s license.

Injured in a Motorcycle Accident? Get in Touch with The Fran Haasch Law Group

The attorneys with The Fran Haasch Law Group have a passion for motorcycles and making sure our fellow riders are protected at all times. If the negligence of another party resulted in an accident that caused you to suffer an injury, get in touch with us as soon as possible for a free case evaluation.

Share the Post:

Related Posts

Contact Us Today

Contact The Fran Haasch Law Group online or by phone to speak to an experienced attorney in Clearwater today.

MM slash DD slash YYYY
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
metricool pixel