If you’re looking to ride a motorcycle in the Sunshine State, you’ll need to have a valid motorcycle license. However, before getting your motorcycle license, you may want to explore the costs of acquiring one. The good news is that getting your license is pretty easy – but there are a few things you’ll need to know before you get started and The Fran Haasch Law Group has you covered.
Motorcycle License Costs
A motorcycle endorsement license has a $7 fee, while a motorcycle-only licenses cost $48. If you decide to obtain your license or endorsement from a tax collector office, it will require an additional transaction fee of $6.25.
Motorcycle Safety Courses Costs
You will also have to pay for a Basic Rider Course motorcycle safety course. These classes are certified by the state but are provided by independent schools, which means the prices for the courses will vary.
Depending on the school you attend, prices range from $100 to over $400. The difference in price includes what is covered in the training and what is provided, and whether the school provides a test-pass guarantee.
How Do You Get a Motorcycle License in Florida?
There are two different ways to get a motorcycle license in Florida.
Florida Motorcycle-Only License Requirements
If you’re only interested in riding a motorcycle, you can get a “motorcycle only” license. This option is available to riders at least 16 years old who have a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit.
To get your license, follow these steps:
- If you are under 18 years old, your parent or guardian will need to sign off on your application.
- Complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course.
- Pass an introductory rider course (BRC) through the Florida Rider Training Program.
- Present documents to prove your identity verify your social security number and current address.
- Pass an eye and ear exam at the licensing site.
Motorcycle Endorsement Requirements
Once you’ve secured a learner’s license, you can complete the process for motorcycle licensure. A motorcycle endorsement license is an additional endorsement on your Class E Florida driver’s license. It does not expire.
To get a motorcycle endorsement on your driver’s license, you must be at least 18 years old and have a valid Class E operator’s driver license.
Take an Approved Motorcycle Skills Course
Florida law requires anyone seeking a motorcycle license or endorsement to take a motorcycle safety course with a curriculum developed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF).
After completing an approved motorcycle safety course, you can take the motorcycle skills test. This is a practical exam where you will be required to demonstrate your ability to ride a motorcycle safely. You must pass this test to obtain your Florida motorcycle license.
Before taking a course, make sure it is an approved training program. You can find a list of these on the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) website.
Gather the Paperwork and Visit the Nearest DMV Office
Once you’ve completed all the requirements, it’s time to gather the paperwork and visit your nearest driver license office or tax collector office. You’ll need to bring:
- Your valid driver’s license or learner’s permit
- Proof of completion of a BRC or BRCu course dated within the last calendar year
- A completed application for a motorcycle license or endorsement
- The appropriate fees
What if I Got My Motorcycle License in a Different State?
If you have a motorcycle driver license from any state except Alabama, and it is endorsed for motorcycle operation, Florida will reciprocate the endorsement, and a motorcycle course will not be required. However, Alabama motorcyclists can ride if they can provide a Basic Rider Course (BRC) completion card.
Need a Motorcycle Accident Lawyer?
Contact the Fran Haasch Law Group today if you or someone you love has been involved in a motorcycle accident. We will fight to get justice and compensation for your injuries and damages.