It is illegal to drive a motorcycle without a valid motorcycle license in most states. Florida has specific laws that apply to driving a motorcycle without a license. To legally drive, you must have a valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement or hold a ‘Motorcycle Only’ license.
Are you confused about the laws of motorcycle riding in Florida? The Fran Haasch Law Group has got you covered.
Do You Need a Motorcycle License in Florida?
In Florida, you are required to have a Class E license with a motorcycle endorsement to operate a motorcycle. If your license has expired for more than six months, you will need to take the written and driving tests again to get re-licensed.
Do You Need a Motorcycle License to Buy a Motorcycle?
Before you purchase a motorcycle, make sure you have a valid license. You can’t legally ride a motorcycle without having the state’s motorcycle endorsement on your license, which means you have passed a test or taken a safety course.
Can You Drive a Motor Scooter Without a License?
In Florida, you can drive a motor scooter without having a motorcycle license as long as it has an engine size of 50cc or less. If your scooter has an engine size of more than 50cc, then you will need to have a Class E license with a motorcycle endorsement to operate it.
What If I’m From Another State?
If you got your license in another state and it is endorsed for motorcycle operation, Florida will reciprocate the endorsement, and a motorcycle course will not be required. One exception to this rule is Alabama; Alabama riders must have a Basic Rider Course completion card to operate a motorcycle legally.
What If You Get Pulled Over Without a Motorcycle Permit in Florida?
If you get pulled over without the appropriate license in Florida, you will likely be ticketed and fined. In some cases, you may face up to six months of probation or 60 days in county jail. Driving without a motorcycle license also risks having your motorcycle impounded at your expense.
Can You Register a Motorcycle Without a License in Florida?
Yes, it’s possible to register your motorcycle without having an active driver’s license. However, you may not legally ride until you have a valid license or permit.
Is It Necessary to Hire a Lawyer to Get a Motorcycle Driver’s License in Florida?
No, it is not necessary to hire a motorcycle lawyer to get a license in Florida. However, if you have any questions or concerns about the process, it may be wise to seek legal assistance. A qualified lawyer can help make sure that everything goes smoothly when applying for your motorcycle license and can answer any questions that come up along the way.
How Do I get a Motorcycle License and Endorsement?
In Florida, motorcycle drivers have two ways to get the state’s motorcycle operator’s endorsement on their driver’s license.
To get a motorcycle license, you must be at least 16 years old and have held a Learner’s Permit for at least a year with no traffic convictions. Drivers over 18 are eligible for motorcycle licenses or endorsements without getting a permit first.
You can go to any driver’s license office to take a written test made up of 20 questions. Once you pass the written test, the state will issue you a permit that is good for 60 days.
Before your permit expires, you must take a driving test. The driving test is more hands-on and will require you to show that you can operate a motorcycle safely on public roads. You can practice for the driving test by taking a motorcycle safety course.
Once you pass the driving test, you’ll get a new driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement.
To get a motorcycle endorsement in Florida, you must:
- Hold a regular Class E Driver’s License
- Complete the Basic RiderCourse (BRC) or Basic RiderCourse updated (BRCu) motorcycle safety course.
- Go to a driver’s license or tax collector office that issues a motor vehicle license with your course certification and proper ID.
- Pay the required endorsement fee ($7) and a license fee ($48). In addition, if you are applying at a county tax collector office, you will pay an additional fee ($6.25).
Need a Motorcycle Accident Lawyer?
Contact the Fran Haasch Law Group today if you or someone you love has been involved in a motorcycle accident. Even if you are riding a motorcycle without an endorsement, you can still file for compensation after a motorcycle accident in Florida.
Contact us today to find out what your rights are. We will fight to get justice and compensation for your injuries and damages.