Can Ams, such as the Can-Am Spyder or Can-Am Ryker, are considered “three-wheel motorcycles,” so they are treated differently from regular motorcycles for licensing and registration. This blog post will discuss the requirements for driving a Can-Am in Florida.
Whether you prefer riding a three-wheeler or a traditional two-wheeled motorcycle, the attorneys with The Fran Haasch Law Group will be here for you if you ever need us. We’ve represented a lot of motorcyclists who were injured in accidents that weren’t their fault, and we’ll be ready to do the same for you. Just contact us online for a free evaluation of your case.
What Kind of License Do I Need?
First and foremost, to drive a Can-Am in Florida, you must have a valid driver’s license. If you are under 18, you must have a Class E learner’s permit or higher to operate a Can-Am. You’ll also need to take either the 2-wheel BRC (Basic Rider Course) or the 3-wheel BRC or STEP (Sidecar/Trike Education Program).
Once you complete either course, you’ll need to get a motorcycle endorsement on your car license. You can also get a motorcycle-only license if you don’t plan on driving a four-wheel vehicle.
If you complete the BRC motorcycle rider education program, then you’ll be permitted to ride on a vehicle with two or more wheels. However, if you complete the STEP motorcycle safety program, you’ll be limited to operating vehicles with three or more wheels.
In addition to having a driver’s license, you must also register your Can-Am with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). The registration fee for a Can-Am is $60.00 per year. You will also need to purchase liability insurance for your vehicle.
Can Ams can be operated on public roads in Florida, but there are some restrictions. For example, you cannot drive them on highways with a speed limit of more than 55 mph. Additionally, you must be at least 16 years old to operate a Can-Am on public roads.
If you are caught driving a Can-Am without the proper license or registration, you could face fines and/or other penalties. Therefore, it is important to familiarize yourself with the requirements for driving a Can-Am in Florida before you hit the open road. For more information, contact your local driver license office or your local motorcycle dealer.
What is the Florida 3-Wheel Basic Rider Course?
The Florida three-wheel Basic Rider Course (BRC) is a 16-hour motorcycle rider education course that teaches the fundamentals of safe motorcycle riding. The course is designed for new riders, and it covers topics such as hazard recognition, risk management, braking, turning, and more. Successful completion of the BRC allows you to ride on any two or three-wheeled motorcycle in Florida.
The cost of the BRC varies, but is generally around $225.00. Most courses will include the use of a training motorcycle and helmet, but verify this is the case before you sign up.
What is the Florida Sidecar/Trike Education Program?
The Florida Sidecar/Trike Education Program (STEP) is a four-hour course that provides instruction on safely operating a three-wheeled vehicle. The course is designed for new riders, and it covers topics such as proper braking, turning, and lane changing techniques. Successful completion of the STEP skills test allows you to ride on any three-wheeled motorcycle in Florida.
The STEP cost is generally about $75, which includes the use of a training motorcycle and helmet.
What are the Benefits of Riding a 3-Wheel Motorcycle?
There are many benefits to riding a three-wheel motorcycle, or Can-Am. First and foremost, they are incredibly stable and easy to ride. This makes them a great option for new riders, or those who haven’t ridden in a while. Additionally, they offer a more comfortable ride than a regular motorcycle, as you sit in a bucket seat instead of on a small seat.
Another benefit of riding a three-wheel motorcycle is plenty of storage space. This is perfect for long trips or if you need to transport large items. Finally, they are fun to ride!
If you’re considering purchasing a three-wheel motorcycle, be sure to do your research and make sure you understand the requirements for driving one in Florida. Contact any location that issues driver licenses or your local motorcycle dealer for more information.
Taking an MC safety course might be a good idea even if you already have a license to operate a three-wheeler, because it will give you a chance to sharpen your skills if it’s been a while since you rode one.
What Kind of Insurance Do I Need to Ride a 3-Wheel Motorcycle?
Oddly, Florida is the only state in the country that does not require riders to have motorcycle insurance, whether they ride on a two-wheeled motorcycle or on a three-wheeler. But if you choose not to have coverage, you’ll need to show proof that you have the money to pay for any injuries or property damage that result from an accident you cause.
So, while you don’t legally have to carry coverage, it will be a good idea to purchase an insurance policy for your Can-Am. The risks of not having insurance are just too high.
The cost of motorcycle insurance varies depending on a number of factors such as your age, driving history, the type of motorcycle you ride, and more. Be sure to shop around and compare rates before purchasing a policy.
How Do I Find the Best Rates on Motorcycle Insurance?
There are a few things you can do to find the best rates on motorcycle insurance:
- Be sure to shop around and compare rates from multiple companies.
- Consider raising your deductible, which is the amount you would pay out-of-pocket if you need to make a claim.
- Try to avoid accidents and traffic violations, as these can cause your rates to increase.
Get in Touch with The Fran Haasch Law Group if You Ever Need Legal Representation
At The Fran Haasch Law Group, we love motorcycles of all kinds. We also love helping our fellow riders get the money they deserve if they’re ever hurt in an accident caused by someone else’s negligence. If this happens to you or a loved one, just use our online form for a free evaluation of your case.