As the popularity of rideshares increases, so does the risk of rideshare-related accidents. More and more people are choosing to use rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft over traditional methods of transportation. While these companies provide a convenient, effective, and affordable option for those who do not wish to drive themselves, the fact remains that there are more rideshare accidents now than ever.
If you are involved in an accident with a rideshare vehicle—either as a passenger, a driver or passenger of a separate vehicle, or a pedestrian or cyclist—you may be entitled to compensation for your damages. Under Florida state law, rideshare drivers must carry a minimum of $1 million in liability coverage. They are also required to carry the minimum personal injury protection (PIP) coverage that all Florida drivers must have.
If you were injured in an Uber, Lyft, or another rideshare accident, call The Fran Haasch Law Group at (727) 784-8191 for a free evaluation with one of our Clearwater rideshare accident attorneys.
Who Is Liable for Rideshare Accidents?
As previously mentioned, rideshare drivers must carry the minimum PIP coverage allowed under Florida law ($10,000 per person or $20,000 per accident), as well as the $1 million coverage required of rideshare companies. Additionally, most rideshare drivers are required to carry $50,000 in coverage when they are not actively driving a passenger. The circumstances involved in your accident will not only determine who is liable but also how much you will be able to recover.
In any given rideshare accident, there may be several liable parties. These include:
- The Rideshare Company: This applies when the driver has the app turned on, is actively looking for passengers, or is carrying a passenger at the time of the incident.
- The Driver: The driver may be at fault for the accident and therefore liable for your injuries and other damages. This includes times when the driver does not have the app on and/or is not currently picking up passengers for rideshare purposes.
- A Third Party: In rare circumstances, a third party may be partially at fault for the accident. This includes situations involving defective car parts, poor road design, and more.
Rideshare accident claims can be very confusing. Because of this, it is absolutely imperative that you speak to a seasoned Uber accident attorney who has experience handling these unique types of cases. At The Fran Haasch Law Group, we can help you ensure that your rights are protected and that you are fully aware of all your legal options.
What If You Are Injured as a Rideshare Driver?
If you are a rideshare driver and you are involved in an accident that leaves you injured, you may have several options for pursuing compensation. If you drive for Uber or Lyft, you will be protected by your company’s $1 million coverage as long as you had the app turned on when the accident occurred. In other words, if you were looking for a passenger or had a passenger at the time of the crash, your company’s insurance should cover you. The coverage amount may be lower if you were simply looking for a passenger, as opposed to having a passenger in your vehicle.
If you are at fault for the accident, you will likely not be covered. It is important that you fully understand your rideshare company’s policies regarding accidents and liability. If you are involved in an accident as a rideshare driver and are not sure of your rights or what to do next, contact The Fran Haasch Law Group as soon as possible.
Call for a Free Evaluation Today
Our rideshare accident lawyers in Clearwater have a track record of success when it comes to these types of injury cases. We understand the complexities involved, as well as what it takes to fight for your rights—and win. We offer contingent fees, meaning there is no upfront cost for you and if we don’t recover compensation on your behalf, you don’t pay. The Fran Haasch Law Group is proud to assist clients throughout the Greater Tampa Bay Region, including those in Clearwater, Tampa, Palm Harbor, and St. Petersburg.
Give us a call at (727) 784-8191 or submit an online contact form to speak to our office about your case today.