It is against Florida law to ride a motorcycle without a motorcycle endorsement or license. It is a second-degree misdemeanor. If convicted, you could face a maximum penalty of $500 fine and up to 60 days incarceration in county jail.
To legally drive, you must have a valid driver’s license or permit issued by Florida or any other state except Alabama (Alabama motorcyclists can ride if they can provide a Basic Rider Course (BRC) completion card).
Need a motorcycle license and are not sure how to get started? The Fran Haasch Law Group has got you covered.
How to Get a Motorcycle License in Florida
To get a motorcycle-only license, you must be at least 16 years old and have held a Learner’s Permit for at least a year with no traffic convictions. If you are 18 and over, you are not required to have held a learner’s permit. However, you do have to pass the standard class E license test.
To get your license, follow these steps:
- If you are under 18 years old, your parent or guardian will need to sign off on your application.
- Complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course.
- Pass a Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) Basic Rider Course (BRC) through the Florida Rider Training Program.
- Present documents to prove your identity, verify your social security number and current address.
- Pass an eye and ear exam at the licensing site.
Once you secure a valid motorcycle license, you can complete the process for motorcycle licensure by following the steps for a motorcycle endorsement.
If you already have a valid Florida driver’s license, you will only need a motorcycle endorsement. You can get an endorsement at your local driver license office.
Follow the steps below to obtain a motorcycle endorsement on your driver’s license.
Make Sure Your Current Driver’s License Is Valid and Up to Date
To get a motorcycle license in Florida, you must have a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit. If your current driver’s license is not from Florida, you will need to take the written knowledge test and road skills test at a local DMV office.
Check the expiration date on your current driver’s license. If it is expired, you will need to renew it before applying for an endorsement.
Take an Approved Motorcycle Skills Course
You must complete an approved motorcycle safety course to obtain a motorcycle endorsement. You can find a list of these on the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) website. Before taking a course, make sure it is an approved training program.
Take the Florida Written Motorcycle Test
Once you have completed an approved motorcycle training course, you can take the Florida written motorcycle test. The test is administered by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).
Submit Documentation and Fees to the DMV
Once you have completed your motorcycle training course, you will need to submit documentation and fees to the DMV. This includes your BRC or BRCu course completion card dated within the last calendar year, a current driver’s license, an endorsement fee, and a license renewal fee. Take all this documentation to the nearest driver’s license office, and they will issue you a Florida motorcycle endorsement.
Motorcycle License FAQ’s
Can I Get My Motorcycle Endorsement Without Taking a Training Course?
No. If you wish to obtain a proper endorsement, you must first complete an approved training course.
Can I Get My Motorcycle License at 16 in Florida?
Yes. You can get your motorcycle license when you are 16 years old if you have held a Learner’s Permit for at least a year with no traffic convictions.
How Much is a Motorcycle License in Florida?
The fees for a motorcycle license in Florida include an endorsement fee of $7 and a license renewal fee of $48.
Need a Motorcycle Accident Lawyer?
Contact the Fran Haasch Law Group today if you or someone you love has been injured in a motorcycle accident. Even if you are riding a motorcycle without an endorsement, you can still file for compensation after a motorcycle accident in Florida. We will fight to get justice and compensation for your injuries and damages.