Yes, a license plate light is required in Florida. Under statute 316.410, Florida law requires motorcycle riders to have either a tail light or a separate light to illuminate their rear registration plate with white light.
Motorcyclists should make it so that their license plates are legible from 50 feet away, and the light should be illuminated whenever the headlamps or auxiliary driving lamps are lighted. The registration tag of a motorcycle must also be permanently affixed horizontally to the ground and remain visible at all times.
At The Fran Haasch Law Group, we want all riders to be safe and stay legal. If you are curious about motorcycle license plate requirements in Florida, we’ve got you covered.
How to Mount a License Plate
There are a few different ways to mount a license plate on a motorcycle. You can use license plate bolts or a license plate frame. If you choose to use license plate bolts, you must ensure that they are the proper size and length. If you decide to use a license plate frame, it must be made of metal, and it must not obscure any part of the plate. The bolts must also be made of stainless steel or brass.
Can I Have My License Plate Mounted on the Side of My Bike?
There is no specific law in Florida that prohibits motorcycle riders from having a side-mounted plate. You should not face any penalties as long as your plates are visible and permanently affixed. If the numbers and letters read from left to right, your plate should be attached horizontally or top to bottom when mounted vertically.
Can I Customize My Motorcycle License Plate?
Yes, you can customize your motorcycle license plate in Florida. You can choose from a variety of different colors and designs. You can also add letters and numbers to your license plate to personalize it. If you want to add a personalized touch to your bike, you can purchase a license plate frame that conforms to Florida law. You can apply for a customized license plate at any Florida DMV.
Other Important Motorcycle Laws in Florida
Having your license plate illuminated is not the only law Florida motorcyclists have to worry about.
As with any motor vehicle, you need a driver’s license to operate your motorcycle. In Florida, you are required to have a Class E license with a motorcycle endorsement to operate a motorcycle. If your license has expired for more than six months, you will need to take the written and driving tests again to get re-licensed.
Exhaust systems cannot be modified to be louder than when initially equipped. Motorcyclists are also prohibited from having an exhaust system that prevents excessive fumes or smoke.
Florida’s helmet law is complicated. All motorcycle drivers and passengers are required to wear helmets. However, you are exempt if you are 21 or over and covered by an insurance policy with at least $10,000 in medical benefits for motorcycle-related injuries. Regardless of age, all motorcycle riders and their passengers must wear eye protection unless they are enclosed in a sidecar.
Need a Motorcycle Accident Lawyer?
At The Fran Haasch Law Group, we support the Tampa Bay biker community personally and professionally. We understand personal injury law for motorcyclists and have committed to protecting motorcycle rider rights.
We have handled numerous motorcycle accident claims in Clearwater, Palm Harbor, and Tampa and know insurance companies’ strategies to avoid rewarding full compensation.
If you feel you have been the victim of a motorcycle accident through no fault of your own. Our attorneys are prepared to help you navigate the legal process and work toward securing the maximum compensation you are owed.