Florida is one of only a few states that require motorists to carry personal injury protection (PIP) insurance. This unique type of auto insurance will pay damages to a claimant based on their own policy, even if they are found liable for their own car accident. While this policy seems like it should greatly benefit the average driver, it does not come without its drawbacks.
Contact The Fran Haasch Law Group today for a free case evaluation if you feel you have been the victim of a car accident through no fault of your own and have questions about what is covered under your PIP policy.
How Do I File a PIP Claim in Florida?
If you have been in an accident, you will need to file a personal injury protection claim within 14 days. Once that very-brief 14-day time limit is over, you will be ineligible for PIP if you did not receive medical treatment. You will need to gather your medical bills and proof of lost wages to do this. You will need to contact your own insurance company and file a claim.
They will likely require you to fill out some paperwork and may ask for additional information. Once you have done this, you will need to wait for your insurance company to process your claim.
If you have any questions about Florida PIP insurance limits or how to make a claim, please contact a Florida car accident attorney. We are here to help you get the money you need to cover your expenses and get back on your feet.
Benefits of Personal Injury Protection Insurance
There are a few benefits of personal injury protection insurance. First, it can help you cover the costs of your accident, even if it was not your fault. Second, it can help you if you cannot work after your accident. Finally, it can give you peace of mind knowing that you have coverage in case of an accident.
What is the Florida PIP Insurance Limit?
The Florida PIP insurance limit is $10,000. This means that, regardless of who is at fault, you will only be able to receive up to $10,000 from your PIP coverage. This can be a challenge if you have extensive medical expenses or cannot work after your accident.
What Does PIP Cover?
For Floridians with the minimum insurance limits, PIP pays up to $10,000 for medical bills if they have an emergency medical condition. Car accident victims with no emergency medical condition receive up to $2,500 for bills related to their medical care.
PIP pays for the following:
- Medical costs (including all medical services such as ambulatory services, hospitalization, rehabilitation, and prosthetics)
- Death benefits and funeral expenses (up to $5000)
- A percentage of some lost wages
- Replacement services (childcare, housekeeping, and yard work)
- Other necessary expenses (mileage to and from medical appointments)
When Does PIP Not Apply?
It is important to note PIP does not cover the following:
- Damage to your car or someone else’s property
- Pain and suffering
- Disfigurement or scarring
- Injuries to other drivers involved in the accident
- Injuries from accidents that were intentionally caused
Other Coverage Options
There are additional coverage options that you can add to your policy to assist with other costs related to the accident.
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM/UIM) – With this coverage, you are paid for injuries caused by an auto accident where the at-fault driver is uninsured (has no insurance) or underinsured (not enough insurance).
- Collision Coverage – If a collision with another vehicle or object led to your accident, it covers damage to your automobile.
- Comprehensive Coverage – Comprehensive car insurance helps cover damages to your vehicle that a collision did not cause, whether or not a crash occurred.
- Medical Payment Coverage or MedPay – Many insurance policies offer an additional elective provision called MedPay, or Medical Payment Coverage. MedPay ensures that 100% of your medical bills are paid up to a specific coverage limit.
Adding these coverages to your policy may increase your car insurance premiums. However, they are beneficial in limiting your out-of-pocket costs.
Contact a Car Accident Attorney
After being in a car accident, one of the first things you should do is call a car accident lawyer. With their guidance, you will have a better understanding of your rights and remedies. In case two weeks have already passed since your accident, your lawyer will be able to help you figure out the best next step.The Fran Haasch Law Group and our personal injury attorneys are standing by to help car accident victims in Clearwater, Florida, and the Greater Tampa Bay region. We offer free case evaluations to inquiring clients. Our case results speak for themselves, but if you would like to know more about our legal services, please feel free to call (727) 784-8191 or contact us online to get started on receiving maximum compensation for your personal injury case.