Skip to content

Representing Motorcycle Accident Victims Across Florida

Do You Have to Renew a Motorcycle License?

Representing Bikers Like YOU For Over 20 Years

Do You Need a
Motorcycle Accident Lawyer

We offer an honest evaluation of your case’s value, so you can take the next steps towards recovering compensation.

Name(Required)

Related Content

The Fran Haasch Law Group, Do You Have a Renew a Motorcycle License

In Florida, a motorcycle license must be renewed every eight years. However, if you are over the age of 80, your license will need to be renewed every six years. Additionally, if you have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) or are a member of the military, different renewal requirements may apply.

Need to renew your motorcycle license and are not sure how to get started? The Fran Haasch Law Group has got you covered.

How Do I Get a Motorcycle License in Florida?

You can apply for a motorcycle-only license in Florida if you are at least 16 years old and have held a Learner’s Permit for at least a year with no traffic convictions. If you are over 18, you are not required to have held a learner’s permit. However, you do have to pass the standard class E license test.

To get your license, you’ll need to:

  • Have your parent or guardian sign off on your application if you’re under 18.
  • Complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course.
  • Pass a Motorcycle Safety Course – You must pass a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Basic Rider Course (BRC) or an Advanced Rider Course (ARC).
  • Provide Proof of Identity.
  • Pass an eye and ear exam at the licensing site.

Motorcycle Endorsements

If you already have a valid driver’s license, you will need a motorcycle endorsement.

To get your endorsement, you’ll need to:

  • Make sure your Class E driver’s license is up to date. This is the standard, non-commercial license. You may also hold a current A, B, or C commercial license.
  • Complete an approved motorcycle skills course. You can find a list of motorcycle rider courses on the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) website.
  • Take the Florida-written motorcycle test.
  • Submit documentation and fees to the DMV.

When to Renew Your Motorcycle License

Floridians can renew their licenses up to 18 months before the expiration date. If you don’t renew your license before it expires, you’ll have to pay a late fee before you can meet the requirements to reinstate the license. The DHSMV will mail you a renewal notice to your address.

Eligibility for Motorcycle License Renewal

Florida residents who are at least 18 years old and have a valid Florida driver’s license can renew their motorcycle licenses. However, if you are older than 80, you will also need to pass a vision test to renew your license.

The Florida Motorcycle License Renewal Process

Online

The easiest way to renew your motorcycle license is through the Florida GoRenew online system.

To be eligible for online renewal, you must:

  • Have a valid motorcycle license.
  • Be a U.S. Citizen.
  • Have completed your last license renewal in person.

If you are renewing a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL), You cannot renew your license online.

Once you are eligible for online renewal, you’ll need:

  • Your Florida driver’s license number
  • Your date of birth
  • The last four digits of your Social Security number.
  • A valid credit or debit card to make the renewal payment.

Mail

To delay your motorcycle license renewal, you may be able to apply for a military extension. Only military personnel or their immediate family (spouse, child, stepchild) stationed with them are eligible for this extension.

To apply by mail you must:

  • Fill out the Military Personnel and Dependents Affidavit and Driver License Extension Application. – When you fill out this form, you certify your active duty or dependency status and that you are currently stationed outside of Florida.
  • Provide a copy of the military personnel’s military documents.

Once your application is approved, the expiration of your license will be extended. This extension is valid for 90 days after you or your dependent is discharged from military service, you return to Florida, or you obtain a driver’s license.

In-Person

If you’ve already used one of the above methods, you’ll need to renew your license in person. Florida drivers are allowed to renew online or by mail once. This is called a “convenience” renewal.

To apply for a Florida license renewal in person, visit your local DHSMV office. In addition, you’ll need the following:

  • Proof of Identity – This can include a valid and unexpired U.S. passport, birth certificate, certificate of naturalization, or a valid alien registration receipt card or valid employment authorization card.
  • Proof of Social Security Number – You can provide your social security card, a W-2 form, or a paystub.
  • Proof of Florida Residency – Choose two of the following: Utility bill, Florida voter registration card, deed, mortgage document, or rental agreement.
  • Payment for Renewal Fee

Instances When You Cannot Renew Your Motorcycle License in Florida

If your driver’s license is suspended, revoked, or canceled, you will not be able to renew your motorcycle license. Additionally, if you have outstanding traffic citations, you will need to take care of those before renewing your license.

How Much Does It Cost to Renew a Motorcycle License in Florida?

The cost of renewing your motorcycle license is $48. However, you may also need to pay a $7 endorsement fee. Additionally, if you renew your license after it expires, you’ll pay a $15 late fee.

Need a Motorcycle Accident Lawyer?

Contact the Fran Haasch Law Group today if you or someone you love has been involved in a motorcycle accident. Even if you are riding a motorcycle without an endorsement, you can still file for compensation after a motorcycle accident in Florida.

Contact us today to find out what your rights are. We will fight to get justice and compensation for your injuries and damages.