Skip to content

Can I Ride Alone with a Motorcycle Permit?

Can I Ride Alone with a Motorcycle Permit? picture of class e driver's license

Riding a motorcycle is a great way to get around the Sunshine State. Florida is full of fresh air and open roads, and if you want to buy a bike and start riding, you’ll need a motorcycle-only license or endorsement. To get a motorcycle-only license, you must be at least 16 years old and have held a learner’s permit for a year with no traffic convictions. Unfortunately, if you have a learner’s permit, you may not drive a car alone or ride a motorcycle.

At The Fran Haasch Law Group, we want motorcycle enthusiasts to be safe, stay legal, and ride a motorcycle to their hearts’ desire. If you plan to ride a bike, you’ll need the proper documentation to prevent facing fines.

What is a Learner’s Permit?

A learner’s permit allows you to drive while supervised by a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older.

Can I Ride Alone With a Permit?

No, you may not ride alone with only a permit. You must have someone with you who has a valid Florida driver’s license and is 21 years old or older.

Why Do I Need a Permit?

You can’t ride alone with a learners permit because operating any vehicle requires skill and experience. And unfortunately, you can’t gain this skill and experience overnight. To ensure that new riders have the proper skills and knowledge, most states have implemented laws that require new riders to be accompanied by an experienced driver.

So, while it may be frustrating not to cruise around on your own, remember that these restrictions are in place for your safety. Once you get your motorcycle license, you’ll be able to ride alone and enjoy the wind in your face!

Getting a Motorcycle-Only License

If you’re under 18 and don’t have a standard driver’s license, to get a motorcycle-only permit, you’ll need a learner’s license before you begin obtaining your license.

Obtain a Learner’s Permit

Before you get a permit, you must:

  • Pass a Florida class E license exam: To pass the exam, you must have a score of more than 80%.
  • Be at least 15 years old: If you’re under 18, you’ll need a notarized or signed parental consent form.
  • Pass a hearing and vision test: You can take these exams at a local traffic service station.
  • Complete the traffic law and substance abuse education course. (TLSAE)
  • Provide legal documents that confirm your proof of residence, social security number, and identity.

Once you obtain your learner’s permit, you’ll have to use it for over a year without violating any traffic law.

red harley davidson parked on the road on a sunny day in florida

Pass the Introductory Motorcycle Course

Florida law requires anyone seeking a motorcycle license to take an approved motorcycle skills course developed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF). Riders must take the MSF Basic Rider Course (BRC) or the Basic Rider Course updated (BRCu.) Both courses consist of 15 hours of training aimed at helping beginner riders handle any outcomes on the road.

After completing an approved motorcycle safety course, you can take the motorcycle skills test. This is a practical exam where you will be required to demonstrate your ability to ride a motorcycle safely. You must pass this test to obtain your Florida motorcycle license.

Gather Paperwork

Once you have passed your written knowledge test and skills test, you must gather the required paperwork. This includes your

  • BRC or BRCu course completion card dated within the last calendar year
  • A current driver’s license permit
  • A motorcycle only fee ($48)

Go to a Driver’s License Office

Once you have the required documentation, you can take it to the nearest driver’s license office, and they will issue you a Florida motorcycle endorsement.

Motorcycle Safety Tips

Now that you know the ins and outs of getting a permit and motorcycle license in Florida, it’s time to focus on being a safe rider.

Here are a few safety tips to keep in mind:

A Florida Motorcycle License is necessary to ride a motorcycle alone
  • Wear the proper gear: Always wear a DOT-approved helmet, eye protection, gloves, long pants, and over-the-ankle boots.
  • Be visible: Wear bright colors and use reflective tape to make yourself more visible to other drivers.
  • Inspect your bike: Before each ride, take the time to check your motorcycle’s tire pressure, brakes, lights, and fluid levels.
  • Ride within your limits: Don’t push yourself beyond your skill level. Take it slow and easy at first, and work your way up to more difficult riding situations.
  • Never ride under the influence: It is illegal to ride while intoxicated. It’s also extremely dangerous.

Need a Motorcycle Accident Lawyer?

If you’ve been injured in a motorcycle accident, you may be entitled to compensation for your damages.

The motorcycle accident lawyers at the Fran Haasch Law Group have committed to protecting motorcycle rider rights. We have years of experience helping riders get the compensation they deserve.

Share the Post:

Related Posts

Contact Us Today

Contact The Fran Haasch Law Group online or by phone to speak to an experienced attorney in Clearwater today.

MM slash DD slash YYYY
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
metricool pixel