Florida is known for its beautiful beaches and warm weather, but did you know that it is also home to some of the best motorcycle riding in the country? In addition to a wide range of motorcycle-friendly businesses, Florida is also home to some great places to drive a Can-Am Spyder. But you need a motorcycle license or motorcycle endorsement to drive a Spyder in Florida.
Here’s some information on how to make sure you’re legal when you take a Spyder on the road. If you’re ever involved in an accident on your Spyder (or any other vehicle, for that matter) caused by someone else’s negligence, contact The Fran Haasch Law Group online for a free consultation of your case.
How Do I Get a Florida Motorcycle License?
You must have either a motorcycle license, or a motorcycle endorsement on your current Class E driver license, to legally ride a Can-Am Spyder in Florida. As a matter of fact, you’ll need a license or endorsement if you want to legally ride any kind of two- or three-wheel motorcycle with an engine that is 50cc or larger.
If you don’t have a four-wheel vehicle and don’t plan on getting one, you can obtain a “motorcycle-only” license. However, you’ll only be able to legally operate a motorcycle – you can’t operate any other kind of vehicle.
Either way, you’ll also need to show proof that you’ve completed a motorcycle safety course – either the Basic Rider Course (BRC) or the Basic Rider Course Updated (BRCU) from a state-approved sponsor.
Can I Operate a Motorcycle if I Already Have My Florida Class E Driver’s License?
No. You will have to have an endorsement on your driver license to legally operate a motorcycle. However, if you ride a motorized scooter with an engine smaller than 50cc, you can do so with just your Class E operator’s driver license.
What is the Basic Rider Course?
The Basic Rider Course (BRC) is a 15-hour motorcycle rider education course developed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. It covers everything from the basics of operation to advanced skills like emergency braking. The BRC is designed for riders with little or no experience, and it’s the best way to make sure you’re legal and safe when you hit the open road on your Spyder.
What is the Basic Rider Course Updated?
The Basic Rider Course Update (BRCU) is an updated version of the original BRC that includes new material on risk management, street strategies, and defensive riding techniques. The BRCU is ideal for riders who have some experience on a motorcycle but want to brush up on their skills before hitting the open road.
Whatever course you decide to take, you’ll have to show your course completion card within one year to your local driver license office or tax collector office to obtain your license or endorsement. You’ll also have to show your proper ID and pay the required fee. If you wait longer than a year, then you’ll have to take the BRC or BRCU all over again.
What’s the Minimum Age to Obtain a Motorcycle Endorsement or Motorcycle Only License in Florida?
In Florida, you must be at least 16 years old to get a motorcycle endorsement or license. If you’re under 18, then you’ll need to have held a learner’s license for at least one year without any traffic convictions.
What is a Florida Motorcycle Endorsement?
A motorcycle endorsement is simply an add-on to your regular Class E license that allows you to legally operate a motorcycle.
There are two types of endorsements: motorcycle-also (if you have a driver’s license) and motorcycle-only. Endorsements are designated with a letter on the front of the license – “A” for motorcycle-also, and “O” for motorcycle-only. There will also be an “A-MTRCL Also” or an “O-MTRCL Only” designation on the back of your license.
What are the Penalties for Being Caught Operating a Motorcycle Without a License in Florida?
People caught operating a motorcycle without driver licenses or endorsements in Florida face some pretty stiff penalties, because this offense is classified as a criminal second-degree misdemeanor under Florida Statute 322.03(4). They’ll be fined no less than $500, and their motorcycle could be impounded for up to 30 days.
They could also be facing up to 60 days in jail, and your driver’s license could be suspended for up to one year. If they’re involved in an accident while driving without a license or endorsement, then the penalties will only get worse.
So if you’re planning on hitting the open road on your Spyder in Florida, make sure you’ve got your motorcycle license or endorsement first. It’s the law, and it’s the best way to stay safe on the road.
Why Would I Want to Consider Riding a 3-Wheel Motorcycle Rather than a 2-Wheel Motorcycle?
There are a few reasons why you might want to consider riding a three-wheel motorcycle, or Spyder, rather than a two-wheel motorcycle.
For one thing, Spyders are more stable and easier to handle than two-wheel motorcycles, which can be a big plus if you’re a new rider. They also have features like anti-lock brakes and traction control that can help you stay safe on the road.
Injured in a Motorcycle Accident? We’ll Be Here for You
The motorcycle accident attorneys with The Fran Haasch Law Group have an extensive track record of success representing riders injured in accidents caused by the negligence of others. Learn more by using our online form to schedule a free evaluation.