Skip to content

Representing Motorcycle Accident Victims Across Florida

Do You Need a License to Rent a Motorcycle?

Representing Bikers Like YOU For Over 20 Years

Do You Need a
Motorcycle Accident Lawyer

We offer an honest evaluation of your case’s value, so you can take the next steps towards recovering compensation.

Name(Required)

Related Content

Do You Need a License to Rent a Motorcycle? motorcycle models on the side of a road

Motorcycles are a great way to get around, and they can be a lot of fun to ride. If you’re thinking about renting one, you may be wondering if you need a license. Rental motorcycles are easy to find if you have a valid driver’s license with a valid motorcycle endorsement.

At The Fran Haasch Law Group, we want motorcycle enthusiasts to be safe, stay legal, and ride a motorcycle to their hearts’ desire. Whether you want to ride a Harley Davidson or a Yamaha, it’s important to be prepared before you pick up your rental.

Other Requirements for Motorcycle Rentals

Besides having a valid motorcycle license, rental companies have additional requirements you should be aware of before picking up a rental motorcycle.

Age Requirements

Most motorcycle riders that want to rent a bike must be at least 21 years old. However, some companies have raised the age requirement to 25. If you are younger than 21 but over 18 and want to rent a bike, you may be able to rent a scooter, moped, or another small engine vehicle.

Insurance Coverage Requirements

Unlike drivers of motor vehicles, Florida does not require motorcyclists to carry insurance with personal injury protection (PIP). However, Florida law does require riders to carry at least $10,000 in medical benefits through health insurance or the PIP portion of a motorcycle insurance policy. However, the insurance you cover for your vehicle is separate and different from rental insurance.

The rental company usually provides basic liability insurance, which is included in the daily cost. This insurance will cover you if you cause an accident that results in injury or property damage to someone else.

If you’d like to increase your coverage in the case of an accident, some rental companies charge a daily rate for supplemental liability insurance. You can also add comprehensive insurance to protect yourself if your bike is stolen or damaged. It’s important to read over your rental agreement carefully, so you know what to expect in the event of an accident.

Protective Gear Requirements

A motorcycle rental company must provide a motorcycle helmet alongside the rented motorcycle. Depending on the company, you may also be able to purchase gloves, chaps, jackets, and riding glasses.

Florida Motorcycle License Requirements

If you live in Florida and want to rent a motorcycle, you have two ways to get the state’s motorcycle operator’s endorsement on your driver’s license.

Motorcycle Licenses

To get a motorcycle license, you must be at least 16 years old and have held a learner’s license for at least a year with no traffic convictions. Drivers over 18 are eligible for motorcycle licenses or endorsements without getting a permit first.

You can go to any driver’s license office to take a written test made up of 20 questions. Once you pass the written test, the state will issue you a permit that is good for 60 days.

Before your permit expires, you must take a driving test. The driving test is more hands-on and will require you to show that you can operate a motorcycle safely on public roads. You can practice for the driving test by taking a motorcycle safety course.

Once you pass the driving test, you’ll get a new driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement.

Motorcycle Endorsements

A motorcycle endorsement is for drivers who already have a Florida driver’s license. To get a motorcycle endorsement in Florida, you must:

  1. Hold a regular Class E Driver’s License
  2. Complete the Basic RiderCourse (BRC) or Basic RiderCourse updated (BRCu) motorcycle safety course. You can take these courses at any authorized Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
  3. Go to the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles or tax collector office that issues a motor vehicle license with your course certification and proper ID.
  4. Pay the required endorsement fee ($7) and a license fee ($48). In addition, if you are applying at a county tax collector office, you will pay an additional fee ($6.25).

What if I Got My Motorcycle License in a Different State?

If you have a motorcycle driver’s license from any state except Alabama, and it is endorsed for motorcycle operation, Florida will reciprocate the endorsement, and a motorcycle course will not be required. However, Alabama motorcyclists can ride if they can provide a Basic Rider Course (BRC) completion card.

Practice Motorcycle Safety

Now that you know what you need to rent motorcycles, it’s important to practice safe riding. Riding a motorcycle can be dangerous, so it’s important to take precautions. Wear protective gear, including a helmet, and obey all traffic laws. You can help ensure a safe and enjoyable ride by following these tips.

Florida Law For Motorcycles

Florida has several laws that pertain to motorcycles. Some of the most important ones are:

  • Motorcycles must have a headlight and taillight on at all times.
  • Motorcycles must use turn signals when turning or changing lanes.
  • Helmets are required for riders under the age of 21.
  • Riders can only carry one passenger at a time.
  • Motorcycles are not allowed to lane split or filter.
motorcycles on the side of the road

Need a Motorcycle Accident Lawyer?

At The Fran Haasch Law Group, we support the Tampa Bay biker community personally and professionally. We understand personal injury law for motorcyclists and have committed to protecting motorcycle rider rights. 

We have handled numerous motorcycle accident claims in Clearwater, Palm Harbor, and Tampa and know insurance companies’ strategies to avoid rewarding full compensation. 

If you feel you have been the victim of a motorcycle accident through no fault of your own. Our attorneys are prepared to help you navigate the legal process and work toward securing the maximum compensation you are owed. Call (727) 637-0100 or contact us online to get started on receiving maximum compensation for your personal injury case.