If you’re a driver in Florida, it’s important to be aware of its auto insurance requirements. Like some states, Florida requires drivers to carry personal injury protection insurance and property damage liability insurance. In addition, there are several other types of coverage that are recommended or required by law.
Contact The Fran Haasch Law Group today for a free case evaluation if you feel you have been the victim of a car accident through no fault of your own and have questions about what is covered under your policies.
Florida Car Insurance Laws
Florida drivers must have two types of minimum coverage car insurance options:
Personal Injury Protection Insurance (PIP)
Floridians must have at least $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage to cover 80% of their medical bills and 60% of lost wages if they are hurt in an accident. This will also cover up to $5,000 in death benefits regardless of who was at fault for the crash.
PIP will pay for:
- Medical expenses (including all medical services such as ambulatory services, hospitalization, rehabilitation, and prosthetics)
- Lost wages
- Other necessary expenses (mileage to and from medical appointments)
Property Damage Liability Insurance (PDL)
You must carry at least $10,000 in PDL coverage to protect you if you damage someone else’s property in an accident. This coverage may include damage to another vehicle, fence, tree, mailbox, road sign, or building.
Are Florida’s Requirements Considered Full Coverage?
No, minimum car insurance in Florida offers drivers the lowest protection required by the law to obtain a driver’s license. If you want more car insurance coverage, your best option may be to add on additional coverages to supplement your current policy.
Other Auto Insurance Coverage Options
Adding these coverages to your policy may increase your car insurance premiums. However, they are beneficial in limiting your out-of-pocket costs in the event of an accident.
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage helps pay for medical expenses and lost wages if you’re responsible for injuring someone else in a motor vehicle accident.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Florida does not require drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured Motorist Coverage, but it is recommended. This type of coverage protects you if you’re involved in an accident with a driver who is underinsured or has no insurance at all.
Collision Insurance Coverage
Collision Coverage helps pay to repair or replace your vehicle if damaged in an accident.
Comprehensive Insurance Coverage
Comprehensive Coverage helps pay to repair or replace your vehicle if it’s damaged by a covered event like theft or vandalism.
Medical Payment Coverage or Medpay
Most auto insurance providers offer an additional coverage option for your medical expenses if you’re injured in a car accident. Medpay is often used to supplement health insurance or PIP coverage.
Can I Sue For Damages After a Car Accident in Florida?
Yes. You can sue for damages if you’ve been injured in a car accident in Florida. However, it’s important to note that Florida is a no-fault state. This means that your own insurance company will pay for your medical expenses and lost wages, regardless of who is at fault for the accident. You can only sue if your injuries meet a certain threshold in which:
- Your damages exceed the limit of your PIP coverage, or
- You suffered permanent injury
What Should I Do After a Car Accident in Florida?
If you’ve been involved in a car accident in Florida, you should first call the police. Once the police have arrived and filed a report, you should exchange information with the other driver. This includes your name, contact information, insurance company, and policy number.
You should also take pictures of the accident scene and any damages to your vehicle. If there are any witnesses, you should get their contact information.
If you’ve been injured in the accident, you should seek medical attention as soon as possible. Once you’ve received treatment, you should notify your insurance company about the accident.
Should I Hire a Lawyer After a Car Accident in Florida?
If you’ve been injured in a car accident, you may want to hire a lawyer. A lawyer can help you navigate the legal process and ensure that your rights are protected.
You may also want to hire a lawyer if the other driver was at fault for the accident and you’re having trouble getting the insurance company to pay for your damages.
If you’ve been involved in a car accident, contact an experienced car accident lawyer in Florida to discuss your legal options.
What is the Statute of Limitations for Filing a Car Accident Lawsuit in Florida?
The statute of limitations for settling a claim or filing a car accident lawsuit in Florida is four years from the accident date.
What The Fran Haasch Law Group Can Do For You
At The Fran Haasch Law Group, we focus on helping you and your family recover. We pursue personal injury lawsuits and wrongful death claims to obtain full compensation for damages such as pain and suffering, medical expenses, lost earnings, property damage, and more.
With over 20 years of experience, we draw on constant legal and medical research to help clients recover after being injured in auto accidents in Tampa Bay and the surrounding areas. Founding personal injury attorney, Fran Haasch, is a lifetime member of the Multimillion Dollar Advocates Forum and a member of the American Association for Justice, the Florida Justice Association, and the Tampa Bay Trial Lawyers Association.
Our attorneys are skilled and experienced litigators. We are not afraid to take your lawsuit to trial if necessary. No matter how complicated your case, our firm is here to help you navigate the legal process from start to finish.
Contact a Car Accident Attorney
After being in a car accident, one of the first things you should do is call a car accident lawyer. With their guidance, you will better understand your rights and remedies. In case two weeks have already passed since your accident, your lawyer will be able to help you figure out the best next step.
The Fran Haasch Law Group and our personal injury attorneys are standing by to help car accident victims in Clearwater, Florida, and the Greater Tampa Bay region. We offer free case evaluations to inquiring clients. Our case results speak for themselves, but if you would like to know more about our legal services, please feel free to call (727) 784-8191 or contact us online to get started on receiving maximum compensation for your personal injury case.