If you’re a driver in Florida, you need insurance for your motor vehicle. It’s the law. But do you know what kind of coverage is required? And what happens if you don’t have insurance? We’ll answer all of your questions about car insurance in Florida in this blog post!
Contact The Fran Haasch Law Group today for a free case evaluation if you feel you have been the victim of a car accident through no fault of your own and have questions about what is covered under insurance policies.
Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in Florida
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor vehicles states that Florida car insurance laws require a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage and $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance. You must have these two types of coverage through an insurance company licensed in Florida.
Personal Injury Protection Insurance
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) pays for your medical expenses and lost wages if you’re injured in a car accident up to a certain amount, regardless of who is at fault. PIP is sometimes called “no-fault” coverage because it kicks in no matter who caused the accident.
PIP pays for the following:
- Medical costs up to $10,000 (including all medical services such as ambulatory services, hospitalization, rehabilitation, and prosthetics)
- Death benefits and funeral expenses (up to $5000)
- Lost wages
- Replacement services (childcare, housekeeping, and yard work)
- Other necessary expenses (mileage to and from medical appointments)
Property Damage Liability Insurance
Property Damage Liability (PDL) pays for damage you cause to another person’s property in a car accident. This could include their motor vehicles, home, or other property like a fence or lamp post.
Florida’s Penalties for Driving Without Proof of Insurance
Driving without the minimum required insurance in Florida is a non-criminal traffic infraction. That means you won’t go to jail if you’re caught, but you will be fined. The fine for driving without proof of insurance in Florida is $150 for the first offense and $250 for the second, and $500 for each subsequent offense.
If you’re caught driving without insurance, you may also have your license suspended for up to three years. And if you cause an accident while driving without insurance, you could be sued for damages. If the other driver is injured and their car is damaged, you could be on the hook for thousands of dollars.
Do Florida’s Minimum Requirements Provide Enough Coverage?
Most likely, no. Florida’s minimum requirements are just that. Minimum requirements. If your damages exceed your limits, you may have to pay out-of-pocket for certain expenses.
Additional Auto Insurance Options in Florida
There are a few additional auto insurance options that Florida drivers may want to consider adding to their policy, including:
Collision insurance pays for damage to your car if you’re in an accident. It will help pay to repair or replace your vehicle if it’s damaged in a collision with another vehicle or object, or if you roll over.
Comprehensive coverage pays for damage to your car that is not caused by a collision. This could include damage from fire, theft, vandalism, or natural disasters.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Uninsured motorist/Underinsured (UM/UIM) coverage protects you if you’re in an accident with a driver who doesn’t have insurance or enough insurance. If an uninsured or underinsured driver hits you, this coverage will help pay for your medical expenses, medical bills, and lost wages up to your policy limit.
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
Bodily injury liability coverage pays for the medical expenses for those involved in an accident that you caused. It will also help cover legal fees, if the injured party sues you.
Medical Payments Coverage
Medical payments coverage pays towards your medical expenses if you’re in an accident.
Rental Car Reimbursement
Rental car reimbursement pays for a rental car while your car is being repaired after an accident.
Towing and Labor Coverage
Towing and labor coverage pay for towing and labor costs if your car breaks down or needs to be towed.
Roadside Assistance Coverage
Roadside assistance coverage provides help if you have a flat tire, run out of gas, or need a tow.
Contact a Car Accident Attorney
At The Fran Haasch Law Group, we are committed to fighting for your fair recovery. We strive to help injured individuals and the loved ones of those wrongfully killed secure the full, fair recovery they are owed. We offer dedicated legal representation for car accident victims and bicycle, rideshare, and semi-truck accident victims.
If you feel you have been the victim of a car accident through no fault of your own. Our attorneys are prepared to help you navigate the legal process and work toward securing the maximum compensation you are owed. Call (727) 784-8191 or contact us online to get started on receiving maximum compensation for your personal injury case.