Florida car insurance laws require all drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage. This type of coverage protects you if you are found at fault in an accident. If you’re a driver in the Sunshine State, it’s important to be aware of the state’s minimum car insurance requirements.
At The Fran Haasch Law Group, we focus on helping you and your family recover. Our car accident attorneys are skilled and experienced litigators, and we are here to help you through the claims process and obtain the maximum amount of compensation available to you.
Minimum Car Insurance Coverage Requirements in Florida
In Florida, drivers must carry personal injury protection (PIP), and property damage liability coverage (PDL). PIP coverage covers you and your passengers’ medical expenses after a car accident, regardless of who is at fault. A Florida licensed insurance company must issue proof of PIP/PDL coverage.
- Personal Injury Protection Insurance Coverage (PIP) covers 60% of your medical expenses and lost wages up to $10,000 regardless of who was at fault for the accident.
- Property Damage Liability Insurance Coverage (PDL) pays for the damage to another driver’s vehicle up to your policy limit.
While these are the only two types of insurance required by law, they may not be enough to completely cover you financially if you’re involved in an accident. Many Floridians choose to purchase additional types of insurance, such as comprehensive and collision insurance and/or bodily injury liability coverage.
What Is the Penalty for Driving Without Car Insurance in Florida?
Driving without the minimum insurance coverage in Florida can result in a fine of $150 for a first offense. It’s important to note that this is only a fine, and it will not cover any damages that you may cause in an accident. You could also lose your driver’s license and vehicle license plate suspended for up to three years.
Do Florida’s Minimum Requirements Provide Enough Coverage?
Florida’s minimum car insurance requirements might not be enough to protect you fully. If you’re in an accident and found at fault, you could be liable for the other driver’s medical expenses, lost wages, and property damage. Optional auto insurance coverages include:
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
Bodily Injury (BI) coverage is not required in Florida. It is designed to compensate an injured party for damages the negligent party may have caused. If you are injured in an accident, there is a high chance the at-fault driver isn’t covered to pay for your medical expenses and other injury-related costs.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
UM/UIM protects you if you’re in an accident caused by a driver who doesn’t have enough insurance to cover your damages. UM/UIM covers your medical expenses and lost wages.
Collision Coverage in Florida
Collision coverage covers the damage to your vehicle caused by an accident, regardless of who is at fault. Collision covers repairs or replacement up to your vehicle’s actual cash value (ACV), minus the deductible.
Comprehensive coverage covers the damage to your vehicle caused by anything other than an accident, such as theft, vandalism, or natural disasters. Comprehensive covers repairs or replacement up to your vehicle’s actual cash value (ACV), minus the deductible.
Rental Car Reimbursement Coverage in Florida
Rental car reimbursement coverage covers the cost of a rental car while your vehicle is being repaired after an accident.
Towing and Labor Coverage in Florida
Towing and labor coverage cover the cost of towing your vehicle to a repair shop after an accident.
Medical Payments Coverage
Medical payments coverage fills the coverage gaps between auto and health insurance to make sure your medical bills get paid for quickly. It will cover accident-related medical expenses that your PIP and health insurance do not, regardless of who is at fault.
What Should I Do After a Car Accident?
If you’re involved in a car accident, you should first call the police. Even if the accident is minor, it’s important to record what happened.
The next step is to exchange information with the other driver. You will need their name, address, phone number, and insurance information. It’s also a good idea to take pictures of the damage to both vehicles.
Once you have all this information, you should call your insurance company and file a claim. Your insurance company will then send an adjuster to assess the damage and determine how much they will pay for repairs.
Need a Car Accident Attorney?
At The Fran Haasch Law Group, we are committed to fighting for your fair recovery. We strive to help injured individuals and the loved ones of those wrongfully killed secure the full, fair recovery they are owed. We offer dedicated legal representation for car accident victims and bicycle, rideshare, and semi-truck accident victims.
If you feel you have been the victim of a car accident through no fault of your own. Our attorneys are prepared to help you navigate the legal process and work toward securing the maximum compensation you are owed. Call (727) 784-8191 or contact us online to get started on receiving maximum compensation for your personal injury case.