If you are a Florida resident who is new to car ownership, you may be wondering if you need to have insurance to register your vehicle. The answer is yes – you do need insurance to register a car in Florida.
Florida DMV Registration Requirements
If you want to drive on public roads in Florida, you must register your car with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You must have your title, proof of identity, Florida auto insurance documents or self-insurance certificate, and an initial registration fee to register your vehicle. After your vehicle is registered, you’ll receive your license plates and registration card.
Car Insurance Requirements in Florida
Florida insurance laws require all drivers to carry minimum liability insurance, personal injury protection (PIP), and property damage liability (PDL). PIP coverage will help pay for your own medical expenses and lost wages if you are involved in an accident, regardless of who is determined to be at fault. PDL insurance will help pay for damage you cause to someone else’s property in an accident.
Temporary Vehicle Registration
If you are not a Florida resident but purchased your car in Florida, you may be eligible to get a temporary license plate and car registration tag from a local county tax collector’s office. Temporary registration allows you to legally drive your car back to your home state before you register it there. However, you will have to pay Florida sales tax and show proof of insurance before you can get a temporary tag.
Renewing Florida Registration
In states with an electronic filing system, your insurance provider alerts your state’s DMV when your policy has lapsed. You’ll receive a notice to renew your insurance to maintain registration.
You can renew your registration using DMV’s online renewal system, office, or mobile app.
What Happens If You Drive Uninsured?
If you let your insurance policy lapse or you are caught operating a vehicle without the minimum required amount of liability coverage, you will be subject to a number of penalties, including:
- A fine of $150 for the first offense
- A fine of $250 for the second offense
- A fine of $500 for each subsequent offense
Suspension of your driver’s license and motor vehicle registration until you can prove that you have obtained the required insurance coverage.
Need a Car Accident Attorney?
At The Fran Haasch Law Group, we are committed to fighting for your fair recovery. We strive to help injured individuals and the loved ones of those wrongfully killed secure the full, fair recovery they are owed. We offer dedicated legal representation for car accident victims and bicycle, Uber and Lyft, and semi-truck accident victims.
If you feel you have been the victim of a car accident through no fault of your own. Our attorneys are prepared to help you navigate the legal process and work toward securing the maximum compensation you are owed. Call (727) 784-8191 or contact us online to get started on receiving maximum compensation for your personal injury case.