In Florida, it is illegal to drive a car without insurance. This applies to residents and tourists alike. If you are caught driving without insurance, you will face serious penalties, including fines and license suspension.
If you’ve been in a car accident in Florida, contact The Fran Haasch Law Group. We focus on helping you and your family recover. Our car accident attorneys are skilled and experienced litigators, and we are here to help you through the claims process and obtain the maximum amount of compensation available to you.
Florida Car Insurance Requirements
Under Financial Responsibility and No-Fault laws, drivers must carry auto insurance coverage through a Florida licensed insurance company.
Personal Injury Protection Insurance Coverage (PIP)
All drivers must have Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance in Florida. PIP insurance is sometimes called “no-fault” insurance because it pays for your injuries, regardless of who caused the accident. Regardless of who is at fault, PIP insurance covers up to $10,000 in medical expenses and lost wages. If you cause an accident, depending on who owns the vehicle and your insurance policies, your PIP coverage may also protect your passengers.
Property Damage Liability Coverage (PDL)
If you damage someone else’s property in an accident, you must carry at least $10,000 in PDL coverage to protect you under Florida law. This coverage may include damage to another vehicle, fence, tree, mailbox, road sign, or building. In accidents resulting in a “total loss,” PDL will cover a portion of the replacement cost.
Is Bodily Injury Liability Coverage Required in Florida?
No, Florida does not require bodily injury liability (BIL) insurance. However, there are exceptions to this rule. However, it is good to have this type of insurance if you can afford it.
- Under Florida Statue 324.023, drivers with DUI convictions must have bodily injury insurance. According to the Statute, you must have BI coverage for three years after the return of your driving privileges.
- According to Florida’s Financial Responsibility Law, drivers who cause accidents resulting in bodily injury must provide financial coverage of at least $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident or post a bond. If this financial responsibility is not met, drivers may lose their driving privileges and make financial arrangements to pay for any judgment against them to get their driver’s license reinstated.
If you don’t fall under these categories, BIL is still good insurance to have if you can afford it. BIL insurance covers the other driver’s medical expenses and lost wages if you cause an accident.
Penalties for Driving Without Auto Insurance
Drivers in Florida must maintain proof of continuous insurance throughout the registration period. If you are caught driving without insurance in Florida, you will face penalties including fines and a loss of driving privileges for up to three years unless proof of insurance is provided in time.
Penalties for the First Offense
After your first offense, Florida can suspend your license until you provide proof of insurance and pay a reinstatement fee of $150. Then you can apply to reinstate your vehicle registration, license plates, and driver’s license. However, you will not have to pay any fees or suffer penalties if you can prove your new policy began before the suspension date.
Penalties for Subsequent Offenses
If you are caught driving without car insurance again, the fees to reinstate your license and vehicle registration go up. For the second offense, the reinstatement fee increases to $250. For subsequent offenses within three years after the first offense, the reinstatement fee increases to $500.
What Happens If You Get Into a Car Accident Without Insurance?
If you’re involved in a car accident in Florida and have no insurance, the consequences can be significant. Because Florida is a no-fault state, drivers are responsible for their own damages. However, if you are at fault and the other driver has suffered injuries or property damage that exceeds the limits of their PIP insurance, you can be held liable for their damages. You may also lose driving privileges until their damages are paid in full.
Need a Car Accident Lawyer?
At The Fran Haasch Law Group, we are committed to fighting for your fair recovery. We strive to help injured individuals and the loved ones of those wrongfully killed secure the full, fair recovery they are owed. We offer dedicated legal representation for car accident victims and bicycle, rideshare, and semi-truck accident victims.
If you feel you have been the victim of a car accident through no fault of your own. Our attorneys are prepared to help you navigate the legal process and work toward securing the maximum compensation you are owed. Call (727) 784-8191 or contact us online to get started on receiving maximum compensation for your personal injury case.